1452 Duke Street
Alexandria, Virginia 22314
Phone (703) 836-6727
Fax (703) 836-7491
Email: asnehq@navalengineers.org


ASNE is the leading professional engineering society for engineers, scientists and allied professionals who conceive, design, develop, test, construct, outfit, operate and maintain complex naval and maritime ships, submarines and aircraft and their associated systems and subsystems.  ASNE also serves the educators who train the professionals, researchers who develop related technology, and students who are preparing for the profession.  Society activities provide support for the U.S. Navy; U.S. Coast Guard; U.S. Marine Corps; U.S. Merchant Marine and U.S. Army.

ASNE is the seventh oldest technical society in the United States.  It was founded in 1888 by a group of naval engineering pioneers, most of them officers of the U.S. Navy's Engineering Corps, who sought a unified approach to their profession in order to make the most of new advances in technology. The purposes of ASNE are:           

  • to advance the knowledge and practice of naval engineering in public and private applications and operations,
  • to enhance the professionalism and well-being of members, and
  • to promote naval engineering as a career field.

For 125 years, the Society’s objectives have been strengthened and preserved to meet the changing needs of a time-honored profession. Today ASNE conducts a variety of technical meetings and symposia, publishes the highly regarded Naval Engineers Journal and a number of other technical proceedings and publications, and fosters professional development and technical information exchange through technical committees, local section activities and cooperative efforts with government organizations and other professional societies.

The Society's annual meeting, ASNE Day, is typically held in February of each year in the Washington, DC, area. The meeting features major addresses by high level industry and government leaders and panel discussions by leading members of the profession.  It also includes presentation and discussion of technical papers on a variety of timely naval engineering topics, presentation of the Society's prestigious annual awards and a large exposition with government and industry exhibits covering the full spectrum of naval engineering technology. ASNE Day is highlighted by the Society’s annual Honors Gala, attended by hundreds of executives and senior managers from both government and industry.

Our website is designed to not only serve our members, but also to support scholars, students and others interested in the varied field of naval engineering.  We welcome your suggestions on ways we can improve your experience. 

The recipient of the Claud A. Jones Award, presented annually since 1987, is a fleet or field engineer who has made significant contributions to improving operational engineering or material readiness of our maritime forces during the past three years. Admiral Jones' career spanned over 40 years including his midshipman days, the first 24 years largely spent on ships and with the fleet serving with distinction in engineering assignments. He was awarded the Medal of Honor for "extraordinary heroism in the line of his profession" as a result of his courageous actions in 1916, while serving as engineer on the USS Memphis, when his ship was wrecked by a tidal wave. 

"The nominee must have made sustained significant contributions to improving operational engineering or material readiness of maritime defense forces culminating in the three-year period ending in the current year. Evidence of the personal involvement and an assessment of the significance of the nominee's contribution should be submitted. If, for security reasons, the details of the actions cannot be publicly disclosed, the statement should be sufficiently specific for recognition of the accomplishment by those qualified to assess it and should be endorsed by a select number of experienced senior executives with authorized access to the information."




LCDR Dennis L. Richardson, USN


LCDR Jeffrey Payne, USCG


LT Caitlin R. Clemons, USCG


CW04 Gregory Collins, USN


Mr. Scott C. Ramalho


Mr. Larry A. Wilkerson


LCDR Gregory Rothrock, USCG


CDR Bradford Paul Bittle, USN


MKCM Bradley G. McMinn, USCG


LCDR Roberto M. Abubo, USN


LCDR Michael J. Paradise, USCG


LCDR William A. Hale, USN


LT Robert B. Bailey, USN


LT James A. Novotny, USCG


CAPT (Sel.) James G. Green, USN


CDR Kevin M. O'Day, USCG


CDR Patrick J. Keenan, USN


CDR Robert G. Butler, Jr., USN


CDR David W. Bella, USN


Mr. Jon C. Leverette


CDR Kenneth P. Roey, USN


CDR Kevin M. McCoy, USN


CDR Kurt J. Harris, USN


CDR David C. Neily, USN


CAPT Richard H. Funke, USN


Mr. Thomas G. Connors


CDR James M. Hunn, USN


CDR Raymond S. McCord, USN


CDR Reginald J. Erman, USN


CAPT Richard T. Holmes, USN


CDR Carl N. Strawbridge, USN