1423 Powhatan St., Suite 1
Alexandria, Virginia 22314
Phone (703) 836-6727
Fax (703) 836-7491
Email: asnehq@navalengineers.org


ASNE is the leading professional engineering society for engineers, scientists and allied professionals who conceive, design, develop, test, construct, outfit, operate and maintain complex naval and maritime ships, submarines and aircraft and their associated systems and subsystems.  ASNE also serves the educators who train the professionals, researchers who develop related technology, and students who are preparing for the profession.  Society activities provide support for the U.S. Navy; U.S. Coast Guard; U.S. Marine Corps; U.S. Merchant Marine and U.S. Army.

ASNE is the seventh oldest technical society in the United States.  It was founded in 1888 by a group of naval engineering pioneers, most of them officers of the U.S. Navy's Engineering Corps, who sought a unified approach to their profession in order to make the most of new advances in technology. The purposes of ASNE are:           

  • to advance the knowledge and practice of naval engineering in public and private applications and operations,
  • to enhance the professionalism and well-being of members, and
  • to promote naval engineering as a career field.

For 125 years, the Society’s objectives have been strengthened and preserved to meet the changing needs of a time-honored profession. Today ASNE conducts a variety of technical meetings and symposia, publishes the highly regarded Naval Engineers Journal and a number of other technical proceedings and publications, and fosters professional development and technical information exchange through technical committees, local section activities and cooperative efforts with government organizations and other professional societies.

The Society's annual meeting, ASNE Day, is typically held in February of each year in the Washington, DC, area. The meeting features major addresses by high level industry and government leaders and panel discussions by leading members of the profession.  It also includes presentation and discussion of technical papers on a variety of timely naval engineering topics, presentation of the Society's prestigious annual awards and a large exposition with government and industry exhibits covering the full spectrum of naval engineering technology. ASNE Day is highlighted by the Society’s annual Honors Gala, attended by hundreds of executives and senior managers from both government and industry.

Our website is designed to not only serve our members, but also to support scholars, students and others interested in the varied field of naval engineering.  We welcome your suggestions on ways we can improve your experience. 

CAPT Richard P. Dunbar, USN (Ret.)

Award: Frank G. Law Award 


CAPT Richard P. Dunbar, USN (Ret.)


For outstanding contributions to the advancement of the Society through dedicated service as set forth in the following: 

Captain Dunbar has been in the vanguard of the unprecedented expansion and success of the Tidewater Section during recent years.  He has consistently been a top recruiter of ASNE members.  His efforts have not only expanded name recognition of ASNE among individual companies, but have enhanced ASNE's reputation among the various Hampton Roads engineering councils and joint professional associations.

As Exhibits Chairman he was the catalyst for the extremely successful Tidewater symposia in 1984, 1988, and 1991.  Noteworthy were his single-handed efforts for the 1991 symposium for which he obtained the professional commitment of an exceptionally large number of private sector and government representatives to support the symposium.

As a member of the national Council and as Chairman of the Sections Committee, he is providing exceptional representation for the Tidewater Section and is an unflinching champion of section issues and concerns at ASNE Council meetings.

Captain Dunbar's immense contribution of his time and expertise is indicative of a strong personal commitment to the Society, its goals and members.  It is most fitting that he receive the Frank G. Law Award for 1992.