1423 Powhatan St., Suite 1
Alexandria, Virginia 22314
Phone (703) 836-6727
Fax (703) 836-7491
Email: asnehq@navalengineers.org


ASNE is the leading professional engineering society for engineers, scientists and allied professionals who conceive, design, develop, test, construct, outfit, operate and maintain complex naval and maritime ships, submarines and aircraft and their associated systems and subsystems.  ASNE also serves the educators who train the professionals, researchers who develop related technology, and students who are preparing for the profession.  Society activities provide support for the U.S. Navy; U.S. Coast Guard; U.S. Marine Corps; U.S. Merchant Marine and U.S. Army.

ASNE is the seventh oldest technical society in the United States.  It was founded in 1888 by a group of naval engineering pioneers, most of them officers of the U.S. Navy's Engineering Corps, who sought a unified approach to their profession in order to make the most of new advances in technology. The purposes of ASNE are:           

  • to advance the knowledge and practice of naval engineering in public and private applications and operations,
  • to enhance the professionalism and well-being of members, and
  • to promote naval engineering as a career field.

For 125 years, the Society’s objectives have been strengthened and preserved to meet the changing needs of a time-honored profession. Today ASNE conducts a variety of technical meetings and symposia, publishes the highly regarded Naval Engineers Journal and a number of other technical proceedings and publications, and fosters professional development and technical information exchange through technical committees, local section activities and cooperative efforts with government organizations and other professional societies.

The Society's annual meeting, ASNE Day, is typically held in February of each year in the Washington, DC, area. The meeting features major addresses by high level industry and government leaders and panel discussions by leading members of the profession.  It also includes presentation and discussion of technical papers on a variety of timely naval engineering topics, presentation of the Society's prestigious annual awards and a large exposition with government and industry exhibits covering the full spectrum of naval engineering technology. ASNE Day is highlighted by the Society’s annual Honors Gala, attended by hundreds of executives and senior managers from both government and industry.

Our website is designed to not only serve our members, but also to support scholars, students and others interested in the varied field of naval engineering.  We welcome your suggestions on ways we can improve your experience. 

CAPT Harry A. Jackson, USN (Ret.)

Award: Harold E. Saunders Award
Year: 1979
CAPT Harry A. Jackson, USN (Ret.)
For his significant contribution to naval engineering as set forth in the following:

Combining his experience in the nuclear power program with the success of the single-screw Attack Submarine, Captain Jackson led the design and development of the deep diving, SSN 594 Class Submarines. This stands as the greatest advancement in performance and capability yet achieved in a single new class design. His design and engineering expertise were crucial factors in the successful development of the Fleet Ballistic Missile Submarine that currently is one of the Nation's primary strategic defense systems.

In his post-active duty career, Captain Jackson continues to direct his talents and expertise toward improving submarine design and engineering: as an advisor and counselor to Navy management; as an engineering consultant; and most importantly, as a teacher, passing on his expertise and experience to future Engineering Duty Officers and civilian engineers. The soundness of his personal contributions have stood well the test or time. and his continuing service and teaching of those who will follow him augur well for the future. The Society therefore considers him most worthy of being recognized and is honored to present him with its Harold E. Saunders Award for 1979.