1423 Powhatan St., Suite 1
Alexandria, Virginia 22314
Phone (703) 836-6727
Fax (703) 836-7491
Email: asnehq@navalengineers.org

Electric Machines Technology Symposium 2008 - Agenda

Tuesday, August 12, 2008
7:00 - 8:10 Continential Breakfast, sponsored by AMSEC (Dining Room on the Delaware)

8:10 - 8:20 Opening/Administrative Remarks - Charles Zimmerman – Chairman, EMTS 2008 - (Concert Hall)

ASNE Welcome – RADM Dale G. Gabel, United States Coast Guard, President, American Society of Naval Engineers

8:20 - 9:30 The NGIPS Open Architecture Business Model and an Overview of the NGIPS Technical Architecture - CAPT Norbert N. Doerry, USN, Technical Director, Future Concepts and Surface Ship Design Group (SEA05D), Naval Sea Systems Command (Concert Hall)

9:30 – 9:50 Break (Dining Room on the Delaware)

9:50 – 11:00 Introduction of Keynote Speaker – Patricia Woody, Machinery Research and Engineering Department Head, Naval Surface Warfare Center Carderock Division, Naval Ship Systems Engineering Station (Concert Hall)

Keynote Speaker – VADM (Sel.) Kevin M. McCoy, USN, Commander, Naval Sea Systems Command (Concert Hall)

11:00 – 12:00 Commonality Considerations in Developing NGIPS – John Sofia, Naval Sea Systems Command (Concert Hall)

12:00 – 1:30 Lunch, sponsored by AMSEC (Spinnaker Room)
Luncheon Speaker – An Overview of the Electromagnetic Aircraft Launching System,
Warren Laskowski, Naval Air Systems Command

1:30 – 1:45 Break

1:45 – 3:00 Technical Session 1 – Systems Architecting and Engineering (Concert Hall)
Moderator: Dr. Michael Golda
Assistant Moderator: Dr. Kimberly Drake

- UK Future Surface Ship Integrated Power System: A Vision of the Future
Commander M. N. Parker, RN and Lieutenant Commander P. S. Parvin, RN

- Early Stage Evaluation of Shipboard Systems Using SEAQUEST
Michael Robinson, David Woodward, Brian Brady, Chris Dafis, Thomas Martin

- IEEE Electric Ship Technologies Initiative
Dr. Yuri Khersonsky

3:00 – 3:15 Break (Dining Room on the Delaware & Exhibit Area)

3:15 – 4:55 Technical Session 2 – Systems Architecting and New Technologies (Concert Hall)
Moderator: Dr. Steve Mastro
Assistant Moderator: Dr. Greg Anderson

- High Frequency Power Transformers for Future Military Propulsion and Energy Systems
S. Prabhakaran, C. Stephens, F. Johnson, L. Lorio

- Automated Average-Value Modeling of Power Electronic Sources and Loads
Ning Wu and Oleg Wasynczuk

- Analysis and Comparison of Electric Ship Integrated Power System Architectures
via Harmonic Metrics
Philip Crapse, Jingjiang Wang, Yong-June Shin and Roger Dougal

- Insulated Bus Pipe (IBP) for Shipboard High Power Distribution Applications
Ruth H. Pater, Charles Smith, Richard Worth and Sang-Hyon Chu

Technical Session 3 – Power Distribution and Conversion (Spinnaker Room)
Moderator: Jason Yan
Assistant Moderator: Tony Lee

- Steps To Achieve NGIPS Goals through Innovative Power Distribution Products
John Ykema, Chris Frantz, Dr. John Barber and Robert Coates

- Magnetically Pulsed DC Hybrid Circuit Breaker for Next Generation Power System
Edward Bowles, Edward Ortiz and James Zgliczynski

- Segregation of Windage and Core Losses for High Speed/Frequency, Permanent
Magnet Machine
Ed Graf, Eric Tripodi, Steve Kolesar, Rich McConnell and Howard Stevens

5:00 – 6:30 Reception, sponsored by General Atomics (Exhibit Area)

6:35 - 9:00 Spirit of Philadelphia Dinner Cruise, sponsored by L-3 Marine & Power Systems
Note: Additional registration required, sign-up at the EMTS registration desk.
Boarding starts at 6:35 pm

Wednesday, August 13, 2008

7:00 - 8:15 Continental Breakfast (Dining Room on the Delaware)

8:15 – 9:55 Technical Session 4 – Propulsion Motors (Concert Hall)
Moderator: Sean Gallagher
Assistant Moderator: Kevin Scanlon

- Status of HTS Motor Development In Korea
Y. K. Kwon, H. M. Kim, S. K. Baik, E. Y. Lee, J. D. Lee, Y. C. Kim, H. J. Park,
Y. S. Kwon, J. P. Hong and Y. S. Jo

- Application for Permanent Magnet Axial Air gap Air Core—PAAC Machines
Costin Ifrim and Mark Harris

- Multi-Fidelity Modeling of Wound-Rotor Synchronous Machine
Benjamin P. Loop, Maher Hasan, Michael V. Gualtieri, and Eric A. Walters

Technical Session 5 – Energy Storage (Spinnaker Room)
Moderator: Ana Gulian
Assistant Moderator: Jason Ostanek

- Ship Wide Uninterruptible Power Supply for the DDG51
Thomas Fikse, Robert Ashton, Steven Cobb, Jim Munro, Jim Trudeau
and Steve Moore

- Voltage Sag Mitigation Technique for a Large Electric Vehicle
James M. Klein, Herb L. Hess and Brian K. Johnson

- Emergency Standby Power Systems (ESPS) for US Navy Cruisers and Destroyers
Kenneth Jones

- Fuel Cell Power System for Naval Applications
R. B. Brithgi, H. L. Hess, B. K. Johnson, L. Luckose, D. Lundgreen. D. Penderson
and A. R. Gridditts

9:55 – 10:15 Break (Dining Room on the Delaware and Exhibit Area)

10:15 – 11:45 Panel Session – A Shipyard Overview of the Technical Issues of NGIPS (Concert Hall)
Tim Zavertnik - Moderator, Naval Sea Systems Command, Technical Director, Electric Ship Office
- Paul Jordan, Northrop Grumman Shipbuilding, Newport News Operations
- John Shegirian, General Dynamics, Electric Boat
- Greg Stevens, General Dynamics, Bath Iron Works
- Keith Taylor, Northrop Grumman Shipbuilding, Gulf Coast Operations

12:00 – 1:30 Lunch (Spinnaker Room)
Luncheon Speaker – Mr. Dale Hirschman, U.S. Fleet Forces Command

1:45 – 3:25 Technical Session 6 – New Technologies (Concert Hall)
Moderator: Eric Manna
Assistant Moderator: Patrick Violante

- Impact of Spraycool® Cooling Technology Applied To Power Electronics On
Shipboard Cooling System Infrastructure
David Stone, Eric Ballew, Sam Zimmerman

- Magnetic Gears—An Essential Enabler for The Next Generation’s Electromechanical
Kent Davey, Mike Werst, Greg Wedeking

- Numerical Studies on Closed Chamber Fires
W. K. Chow and G. W. Zou

- DDG51, CG47, and DD963 Hybrid Drive
Robert W. Ashton and Thomas Fikse

2:10 – 3:50 Technical Session 7 – Special Topics - Spinnaker Room
Moderator: Dr. Greg Anderson
Assistant Moderator: Jason Ostanek

- Simulating System of Systems
Brown, Dalessandron, Longo and Zink

- An Improved Physics –Based Phase Variable Model of PM Machines and Its Utilization
for Hardware-In-The-Loop Simulation of PWM-Based Machine Drives
O. A. Mohammed, Z. Liu and S. Liu

- Dynamic Response Analysis of Makin Island Electric Power System
Shaun W. Horning, Philip P. Leung, Louis, V. Dusang Jr,

- The Addition of a 5 MW Variable Voltage Source to a Hardware in the Loop
Simulation and Test Facility
Michael Sloderbeck, Ferenc Bogdan, Li Qi, John Hauer and Michael Steuter
(Florida State University Center for Advanced Power Systems)

3:50 - 4:00 Closing Remarks (Spinnaker Room)
Charles Zimmerman, Chairman, EMTS 2008