1452 Duke Street
Alexandria, Virginia 22314
Phone (703) 836-6727
Fax (703) 836-7491
Email: asnehq@navalengineers.org


ASNE is the leading professional engineering society for engineers, scientists and allied professionals who conceive, design, develop, test, construct, outfit, operate and maintain complex naval and maritime ships, submarines and aircraft and their associated systems and subsystems.  ASNE also serves the educators who train the professionals, researchers who develop related technology, and students who are preparing for the profession.  Society activities provide support for the U.S. Navy; U.S. Coast Guard; U.S. Marine Corps; U.S. Merchant Marine and U.S. Army.

ASNE is the seventh oldest technical society in the United States.  It was founded in 1888 by a group of naval engineering pioneers, most of them officers of the U.S. Navy's Engineering Corps, who sought a unified approach to their profession in order to make the most of new advances in technology. The purposes of ASNE are:           

  • to advance the knowledge and practice of naval engineering in public and private applications and operations,
  • to enhance the professionalism and well-being of members, and
  • to promote naval engineering as a career field.

For 125 years, the Society’s objectives have been strengthened and preserved to meet the changing needs of a time-honored profession. Today ASNE conducts a variety of technical meetings and symposia, publishes the highly regarded Naval Engineers Journal and a number of other technical proceedings and publications, and fosters professional development and technical information exchange through technical committees, local section activities and cooperative efforts with government organizations and other professional societies.

The Society's annual meeting, ASNE Day, is typically held in February of each year in the Washington, DC, area. The meeting features major addresses by high level industry and government leaders and panel discussions by leading members of the profession.  It also includes presentation and discussion of technical papers on a variety of timely naval engineering topics, presentation of the Society's prestigious annual awards and a large exposition with government and industry exhibits covering the full spectrum of naval engineering technology. ASNE Day is highlighted by the Society’s annual Honors Gala, attended by hundreds of executives and senior managers from both government and industry.

Our website is designed to not only serve our members, but also to support scholars, students and others interested in the varied field of naval engineering.  We welcome your suggestions on ways we can improve your experience. 


Each year, the American Society of Naval Engineers celebrates excellence in naval engineering by recognizing individuals who have demonstrated exceptional achievement in one or more facets of the industry. 

Naval Engineering includes all arts and sciences as applied in the research, development, design, construction, operation, maintenance, and logistic support of surface and subsurface ships and marine craft; naval and maritime auxiliaries; aviation and space systems; combat systems including command and control, electronics, and ordnance systems; ocean structures; and associated shore facilities which are used by naval and other military forces and civilian maritime organizations for the defense and well-being of the Nation.

The 2016 Call for Nominations is closed.  Please stay tuned for the 2017 call in the Fall of 2017.

The Society proudly presents the following prestigious awards:

ASNE Gold Medal Award (Engineering)

The ASNE Gold Medal Award is presented for a singular achievement in naval engineering. It has been presented annually since 1958 and is given to an individual who has made a significant naval engineering contribution in a particular area during the past five years.

Solberg Award (Research)

The Solberg Award, presented annually since 1967, is awarded to an individual who has made a significant contribution to naval engineering through personal research during the past three years. 

Harold E. Saunders Award (Lifetime Achievement)

Presented annually since 1977, the Harold E. Saunders Award honors an individual whose reputation in naval engineering spans a long career of notable achievement and influence. 

Frank G. Law Award (Service to ASNE)

Originally presented in 1980, the Frank G. Law Award is given to an individual whose longtime dedication and service to the Society is deemed worthy of special recognition. Evidence of personal involvement in the management, administration, and financial affairs of the Society measured by achievement while serving as a member, officer, or committee chairperson shall be presented. The recipient must have made significant and long-term contributions to the Society, which resulted in one or more of the following: 

1. Improvement in the Society’s operations; or

2. Enhancement of the Society’s objectives; or

3. Advancement of the Society’s professional stature.

Claud A. Jones Award (Fleet Engineering)

Presented annually since 1987, the Claud A. Jones Award is given to a fleet or field engineer who has made significant contributions to improving operational engineering or material readiness of our maritime forces during the past three years. 

Frank C. Jones Award (Intermediate/Depot Maintenance & Alterations)

The Frank C. Jones Award, named for RADM Frank C. Jones, a past President of ASNE, is presented for major achievements in Maintenance and Alteration. The award recognizes Naval Engineering professionals who, over a period of the last ten years, culminating in the most recent previous year, have substantially and significantly contributed to their agency’s intermediate and/or depot-level ship maintenance and/or alteration programs that involve the complex work of managing, planning, preparation and/or execution of extensive repairs, overhauls, upgrades and/or modernizations. 

Rosenblatt "Young Naval Engineer" Award

Established by the ASNE Council, the Rosenblatt Young Naval Engineer Award is presented to a to a single award winner person who will not have reached the age of 35 years by December 31 of the year of nomination, who has demonstrated remarkable, early professional achievement in one or more areas of naval engineering as evidenced by one of the following:

1. Superior innovation and insight, published paper(s), invention, design, creativity, patent simulation, process improvement, or similar accomplishments; or

2. Outstanding technical leadership and obvious potential for continued distinction in naval engineering based on assigned responsibilities and recognized preeminent performance typically uncharacteristic of someone of his/her age. 

"Jimmie" Hamilton Award (Best Technical Paper)

All papers published in the Naval Engineers Journal during the calendar year are eligible for the "Jimmie" Hamilton Award. Nominations commenting on the originality, professional significance or the lasting value of a particular paper are appreciated and will be considered.

Clifford G. Geiger Award (Naval Logistics)

This award is named in honor of Clifford G. Geiger, a renowned expert and legendary leader in the field of naval logistics. It recognizes naval logistics professionals who, over a period of years have exemplified the ideals portrayed by Mr. Geiger through exceptional leadership and influence within the naval logistics community, determined efforts to strengthen the synergy between engineering and logistics, and dedication to enhancing the capability and stature of the naval logistics profession through increased emphasis on education and professional development for naval logisticians.